Search

We have begun the search process for a permanent superintendent. Our five school committees have agreed to enlist the services of staff from the Massachusetts Association of School Committees (MASC) to guide this process, with some support from our interim superintendent. MASC has a great deal of experience and expertise in this work and the main person we will be working with is Tracy Novick. To draw from as wide a pool of candidates as possible, we have established a search timeline intended to select a candidate by the end of March.

The timeline is outlined below. In addition, families received an email with information on how to join this effort, including virtual meetings and a survey. If you did not receive this communication, please contact the Superintendent’s office.

TIMELINE

Monday, December 14, 2020: Community survey shared to gather feedback on district leadership needs

Week of December 14-21, 2020: Meetings with teachers, students, staff, administration, parents, and community members

Wednesday 12/16/2020; 6:00 pm – First Public Session (see Events on this page for more information) Monday 12/21/2020; 6:00 pm - Second Public Session (see Events on this page for more information)

Week of December 28, 2020: Meet with steering committee to confirm description of position for posting Wednesday, December 30th at 6:00 PM: - Third Public Session **(**see Events on this page for more information)

Friday, January 1, 2021: Posting of position

Tuesday, February 2, 2021: Orientation of search committee

Friday, February 12, 2021: Applications for position due Monday, February 22, 2021: Screening committee selects semi-finalists (executive session) and questions for interviews

Wednesday, February 24 and Thursday, February 25, 2021: Semi-finalist interviews (executive session)

Week of March 1, 2021: Public announcement of finalists as selected by screening committee

Weeks of March 8 and 15, 2021: Site visits to finalists’ districts and by finalists to Hampshire Regional

Wednesday, March 24 and Thursday, March 25, 2021: Finalist interviews by jointCommittees

Week of March 29, 2021: Selection of new superintendent by joint Committees